Hints that God Exists: the Eternal Something

I know that I exist, and you know that you exist. This cannot be doubted (try it; I bet it only lasts until you get hungry). Therefore we all know that something exists. We also know that a something cannot come from a nothing. Something, like a tree, always comes from, or is caused by, another something, a seed. I came from my parents, and my parents from theirs, and they from theirs, and they from theirs, and they from some lower life form, and they from chimps, etc. Where does this progression stop? Well, either we have to think of a chain that goes on eternally, or we have to think of an eternal something that everything comes from. The problem with the first option, the eternal chain, is that it never starts; which means that something never starts—that nothing happens. That’s a problem, because I know that I happened, and I certainly came from something. Hmm…what could an eternal something be?

Hints that God Exists: the Eternal Something

Leave a Reply

